Praying Through The Bible

Reading and praying Scripture every day

Prayer 10/8/09

Our Father in heaven, show me your glory and show me my sin.  Use your word to pierce my heart and expose every desire and intention.  I know that I have traded your commands for the doctrines of man. Show me where my disobedience is and how it is to be removed.  Show me where my worship is false. Break my heart that I might truly worship. I know my problem is my pride yet I do not see it. Remind me that like the Canaanite woman if I deserve anything it is only the crumbs that fall off the table.  Give me faith and perseverance like her’s.

Father, thank you for the reminder this morning that Jesus is sufficient. His power is sufficient for my needs. His wisdom is sufficient for my needs and his provision is sufficient for my needs. May I rest in His strength today. He has promised to build his church. Help me understand how to follow him as he builds.  I know I must die to myself. That command has been preached to me many times yet I am still very slow to preach it to myself. I am even slower to obey it. Forgive me Father because I love my kingdom and will sacrifice greatly for it but I am weak in my love for your kingdom and slow to die for it.  Show me your glory.

Show me that Jesus is worthy not just of my obedience but more than worthy of my death.  I am aware that a strong marriage, faithful family, and love-filled church will cost me but I can’t fathom how much.  Prepare me to give everything when you command.  Give me wisdom, patience, and love.  I do not want to deny anything you give to me or want for me. I do not want to exalt my thoughts or man’s teaching. Show me the power of Christ. Amen.

October 8, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Matthew 15-17: Commands 34-41

Command #34

12Then the disciples came and said to him, “Do you know that the Pharisees were offended when they heard this saying?” 13He answered, “Every plant that my heavenly Father has not planted will be rooted up. 14Let them alone; they are blind guides. And if the blind lead the blind, both will fall into a pit” (Matt 15:12-14)

Command #35

6Jesus said to them, “Watch and beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and Sadducees” (Matt 16:6)

Command #36

Then he strictly charged the disciples to tell no one that he was the Christ (Matt 16:20)

Command #37

22And Peter took him aside and began to rebuke him, saying, “Far be it from you, Lord! This shall never happen to you.” 23But he turned and said to Peter, “Get behind me, Satan! You are a hindrance to me. For you are not setting your mind on the things of God, but on the things of man.”

Command #38

24Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 25For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it (Matt 16:24&25).

Command #39

behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.” 6When the disciples heard this, they fell on their faces and were terrified. 7But Jesus came and touched them, saying, “Rise, and have no fear” (Matt 17:5&6).

Command #40

And as they were coming down the mountain, Jesus commanded them,  “Tell no one the vision, until the Son of Man is raised from the dead” (Matt17:9).

Command #41

Jesus spoke to him first, saying, “What do you think, Simon? From whom do kings of the earth take toll or tax? From their sons or from others?” 26And when he said, “From others,” Jesus said to him, “Then the sons are free. 27However, not to give offense to them, go to the sea and cast a hook and take the first fish that comes up, and when you open its mouth you will find a shekel. Take that and give it to them for me and for yourself” (Matt 17:25-27).

October 8, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , | Leave a comment