Praying Through The Bible

Reading and praying Scripture every day

Commands #1 & #2

Command #1

From that time Jesus began to preach, saying, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.” Matthew 4:17

Command #2

And he said to them, “Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” Matthew 4:19

Pray

Father, I pray today that You would teach me how to obey Jesus’ commands. I pray that you will send people my way who will teach me the joy of obeying all of Jesus’ commands. Give me wisdom and discernment so that I see the difference between worldly repentance and godly repentance.  Show me how glorious and good You are. Show me offensive my sin is against you.  Show me how sufficient Christ’s work is for my forgiveness. May I see with the clarity of Simon and Andrew that Jesus is worthy of following no matter where and no matter what it costs. Thank you God, that you forgive the repentant. Thank you God, that your Son is infinitely worthy of being followed. Show me how. Teach me how. And use me to teach others.  Amen.

October 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a comment